• Bookmark this Page
  • Print this Page

Diagnostic Radiology Residency at LIJMC

The Department of Radiology at Long Island Jewish Medical Center, New Hyde Park, NY has a total of 18 residents in its diagnostic radiology residency. The program provides progressive and comprehensive training and education in all modalities of diagnostic imaging, including but not limited to nuclear radiology, neuroradiology, interventional radiology, diagnostic ultrasound, magnetic resonance imaging, computed tomography and cardiac imaging.  Strengths of the program include an outstanding faculty of subspecialists and the diverse patient pathology present at our three divisions, Long Island Jewish Hospital for adult care, Steven and Alexandra Cohen Children's Medical Center of New York for pediatrics and Zucker Hillside Hospital for psychiatric care. The department is equipped with state-of-the-art equipment at four locations; the main LIJ Hospital, The Schneider Children's Hospital, the division of Nuclear Medicine located in Schwartz Research Building and an out-patient center specializing in women's imaging and PET/CT located across the street.  In addition, there is an active image guided interventional and neurointerventional service. The goal of the program is to provide a strong, balanced foundation for the future diagnostic radiologist in a closely supervised setting that provides the highest quality patient care.  All residents are encouraged to become involved with the various ongoing research projects to introduce and prepare those individuals interested in pursuing an academic career.

The program is under the leadership of the Program Director, Dr. Lawrence Davis and Associate Program Director, Dr. John Hines, who report directly to the department chairman, Dr. Mitch Goldman. There is a full time Program Coordinator, Theresa Eacobacci and ample support staff.

The program is fully accredited, participates in the NRMP match and only accepts applications through ERAS. It is a requirement that residents complete a year of clinical training prior to matriculating in this program.

The department also has three accredited fellowships: neuroradiology, pediatric radiology and vascular interventional radiology.

Back to Top